Anything Bookish · Top 5 Friday

WHERE ARE THESE UPCOMING MOVIE ADAPTATIONS?!

t5f

“This book is going to be a movie.” There are 2 3 responses to this sentence. 1) “OMG? Seriously? I’m so excited to see it on the big screen!” 2) “THEY BETTER NOT CHANGE THE DETAILS. OH WAIT. OF COURSE THEY WILL. THIS WILL SUCK” and 3) “Wait, what? This book existed? Okay. Let me finish my slices of pizza first, because food first.” Y’all have to admit, it’s true.

However, there are movie adaptations that were announced to be produced soon that we have anticipated for. It’s been years since they were announced, and where are they? I don’t know. It’s hard to create movies, I know that. It’s just that I’m an impatient potato, sorry. Anyways, I just wanted to share these with you. Together, let’s wonder, where the heck are these movie adaptations?!

Warning: this will be a short post. Yaaaay! 😉


All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Image result for all the bright places

Yeah, we probably all know this. The release date keeps changing. Totally understand. First it said 2016, then 2017, and now 2018. I’m not rushing people. Totally not. I just CAN’T WAIT. It was such a good book!

  • Elle Fanning is going to play Violet! Yay!
  • No Finch yet… aww.. Please let it be Nicholas Hoult. Pretty please.
  • Jennifer Niven is writing the screenplay.
  • Production was said to begin this year, 2016.

I think this will take a while, but it’s alright. TAKE YOUR TIME, PEOPLE. This better be good.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Image result for red queen

I found out that this was optioned to be a movie right after I finished the book! I was so excited! But… where is it? Has it started? Here are the updates so far:

  • Victoria Aveyard sold the movie rights to Universal Pictures!
  • Gennifer Hutchinson (from Breaking Bad) will write the screenplay.
  • Elizabeth Banks is said to be the director
  • They are still thinking about who will play Mare… They are thinking about Adelaide Kane! I totally agree. She’s the one.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Image result for eleanor and park

I found about this 2 months ago! I’m not the ONLY one wondering where it is! It’s been announced a long time ago! Is it still happening soon? Well…

In 2014:

  • Dreamworks Studio got the rights!
  • Rainbow is writing the screenplay!

This 2016:

  • IT ISN’T HAPPENING. NOPE. NOT ANYMORE. Yeah, I know… it hurts.
  • The rights have been returned to the author.

Gotten lots of E&P movie questions lately. As of now, the Eleanor & Park rights are back with me and not in development. But maybe someday!

— Rainbow Rowell (@rainbowrowell) August 8, 2016

Cinder

Image result for cinder lunar chronicles

I was so surprised when I found out about this one! However, hold your horses. It’s only optioned. The studio is still looking for a director. I searched about updates, but Marissa said that this is out of her control. Let’s just wait and hope that one day it will show up on the big screen!

An Ember In The Ashes

Image result for an ember in the ashes

YES. IT IS OPTIONED TOO. I badly hope that this becomes a movie! It’s such a GOOD book!!! It’s one of my favorites this 2016!

  • Paramount Pictures bought the rights when it was still unpublished!
  • Haroon Saleem (known to be behind The Chronicles of Narnia) convinced a movie producer, Mark Johnson, to read the book. The producer liked it, took it to the studio, and they closed the deal. (!!!)

That’s really all for today! I know, such a short post! Tell your opinions! Do you think these will show up on the big screen soon? Which ones are you looking forward to? Chat with me! =)

krkwoacjnt

8 thoughts on “WHERE ARE THESE UPCOMING MOVIE ADAPTATIONS?!

  1. AEITA?!!!! WHAT?! I’m so excited for that one! It was such a good book! I’m glad E&P didn’t become one because it’s better as a book. I like being able to picture them and it would be cliché as a movie without the writing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES! I WAS ALSO SO SHOCKED WHEN I FOUND OUT! I’m SUPER excited! Eleanor & Park would probably be cliché, I agree. but… if they did a good job, maybe it’ll be a good one! I’m sure it’ll have a very nice soundtrack =)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I CAN’T WAIT!! Hopefully they do Elias justice! 😍 that’s true about the soundtrack- it would definitely have great music. I think it would depend upon the director to make it less cliché so maybe it would work!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. A LUNAR CHRONICLES MOVIE BE STILL MY BEATING HEART!!! I haven’t read Red Queen yet (STILL. I KNOW. SHOOT ME) but it sounds like it’s made for the big screen. Can’t wait for all these movies to (eventually) be released xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment