Anything Bookish · Book Reviews

The Infinite Sea Book Review


Title: The Infinite Sea
Author: Yancey, Rick
Series: The 5th Wave
Pages: 300
Publication date: September 16, 2014
Overall Rating: 3/5
Buy The Book


Synopsis: 

How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.
Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.

My Thoughts:

3 stars

I gave this book 3/5 hearts! I loved The 5th Wave, so I had high expectations before I read this. I have to admit, I’m a tad bit disappointed. What happened? The first book had so much thrill and excitement going on. This sequel wasn’t as engaging and thrilling than the first book. Maybe because all the big secrets are out and all we’re left with are characters struggling with what is real and the enemy. Even if I didn’t enjoy this book as much as the first one, I find it more thought-provoking and psychological.

The book starts off with Ringer’s point of view, which I am very much thankful for. I love her character! I love seeing things in her perspective and finding out the truth about herself in the end. She definitely my favorite character. Anyways, I totally agree with her when it comes to Cassie! She always feel like vomiting when she hears Cassie talk about her prince charming, Evan. *rolls eyes*

“Beats hanging around here waiting for your alien prince to come.”

Hah! Burn Cassie! I totally hated Cassie in this book! WHERE’S THE SARCASM AND BADASS-NESS?! She became a damsel in distress waiting for Evan for like half of the book. Ugh she is nauseating. When Evan returned Cassie goes “don’t touch me”. Wow seriously Cassie? Weren’t you like “My Silencer. Mayfly. He’ll find me” just like a day ago?

Why did he have this knees-to-jelly effect on me? That wasn’t me. Why did I let him kiss and cuddle and generally mope around after me like a forlorn little lost alien puppy? …but what do you call my reaction to him? What’s that called?

I don’t know, Cassie. You tell me. Time to reflect on your life now. Maybe it’s called… love?

Moving on, I love how we got to learn about Poundcake’s past. It’s dark and depressing. I felt so bad for him! Too bad he had to die. I also was thinking… Is his brother the kid in the prologue?

Speaking of deaths, how is anyone is still alive? Seriously. Too much deadly things happened to the main characters! #immortal?! Evan returned from the bombing, he got shot, and his ex attacks him and everyone at the hotel. The main crew almost got bombed and now they’re going to Dubuque on foot. I may have forgot the other things but man, if I were a character in this book, I would be dead.

On the other hand, Ringer and Teacup are with Vosch. I was so confused on whether Teacup was dead or alive. Actually, this whole book confused me. The whole rat metaphor messed up my mind, until I watched Christine’s (PolandBananasBooks @ Youtube) video and finally understood it.

*I’m gonna cut things short here. I know, I’m jumping to different plot points…*

When I was reading this book, I was so paranoid. I don’t know who to trust. There’s this guy Razor who seemed fishy, but I let down my guard and like him. How could anyone not like him?! I ship him with Ringer! Then we go to the part where Razor betrayed Ringer and was leading her to Vosch. WHAT? Then we go to the world’s most confusing plot twist! I’m actually still confused, to be honest. Here’s how I interpreted it:

THERE WERE NO ALIENS DOWNLOADED INTO PEOPLE. It was all HUMANS. Evan and Vosch are humans. Evan was just thinking that he is an alien, but he’s not. Now, Vosch wants Ringer because he needs Evan back. He’s head-over-heels in love with Cassie and he’s not doing his job.

That’s it right? However, if it were all humans… where are the aliens in this? Are they the ones who manipulated the people? Who are aware that there are no aliens downloaded in people’s minds? Did the government know? Why didn’t they take action? Why is Rick Yancey doing this to me? Is this book supposed to open all these questions and answer them in the last book? or am I just too dumb to not understand? I am definitely confusing myself more now. I don’t know what to expect in the last book! I need it right now. aaagghh…

The ending also confused me! Who died? I’m sure Razor died (WHY?!) but what about Teacup?! Evan is also back. (really starting to be questionable. He is really immortal, isn’t he?)

Let me finish this weird and nonsense review now… I’m basically just typing out my thoughts.

In the end, I found this book really mind-boggling, confusing, thought-provoking, and slow. Also, I ship Razor and Ringer and I think Cassie is better off with Ben. I believe that maybe all these will be explained in the last book! Now, chat with me! Tell me your opinions on the comments! Also, if you read the last book… any opinions without spoilers?

Katpage divider

 

4 thoughts on “The Infinite Sea Book Review

Leave a Reply

