Anything Bookish · Book Reviews

When Dreams Come True (Non-Spoiler) Review!

Title: When Dreams Come True
Author: Emin, Rebecca
Genre: Coming-of-age, Contemporary
Publication Date: February 03, 2016
Retail Price: $2.99
Format: Ebook
Buy it on: Amazon
Overall Rating: 3.5/5
Goodreads Link: click here


Charlie is happiest when biking with Max and Toby, or watching films with Allie. But when Charlie reaches year nine (age 13), everything begins to change.

As her friends develop new interests, Charlie’s dreams become more frequent and vivid, and a family crisis tears her away from her friends.

How will Charlie react when old family secrets are revealed? Will her life change completely when some of her dreams start to come true?

My Thoughts:

Rating (out of 5):

33

**I was provided a copy by NetGalley for an honest review. It does not in any way affect my opinions for this book**

This book is basically about a teen (13 years old), named Charlie, who enjoys being with her childhood friends. All was well, until Freshmen year. High school. Ah. Her friends changed once they got to high school, they start to have new interests and the way they act changed. Crushes developed, and all that. She gets a little left behind. She also starts to dream about weird stuff and her aunt got terribly sick. Even weirder, some of her dreams started to come true.

I found this coming-of-age story very cute and enjoyable. I think anyone would enjoy reading this. It’s not exactly Young Adult or Middle Grade, more of in-between. I enjoyed this book because I could relate to the main character. I’ve been through the phase she’s in. I think most of us did. That’s when everyone around us starts to actually be teenagers, while we feel left out. I don’t know about you, but it really did happen to me. I couldn’t accept that I was growing up and becoming a teenager. It looked hard being a teenager. (well, IT IS.)

How did this book catch my attention? THE COVER. I was scrolling through NetGalley, then bam! I saw that pretty cover. I love it, and I think it fits the book well. Another thing is the summary, of course. It talked about growing up, friendship, and DREAMS. Dreams coming true. Whaat? That’s COOL. I love stories about dreams that’ll actually happen in the character’s life. It’s interesting. We’ll talk about that later.

The characters are adorable! They are also realistic. I’ve had friends like them when I was younger. I love Max and Toby. Allie was a little… annoying. Their friendship was… cute. I can’t really get the right words.

The writing was clear and “understandable”. The author actually has a fun style of writing! It kept me going.

However, this book has its flaws. I was debating about giving it a 3 or a 4 star rating. It was really enjoyable and I think 3 was too low, so I ended up giving it 3.5 stars (goodreads). Remember when I said this book was about dreams coming true? Okay. That part wasn’t played out well. If you read the synopsis, it seems like the dreams are a big part of the story (even the title has the word dreams in it). To me, it felt like it wasn’t. The dreams seemed mysterious but actually kind of meant nothing.

Like in the summary mentioned, Charlie’s aunt got sick. It seemed critical. I mean she actually wouldn’t end up in a hospital that long if it wasn’t. The thing I didn’t like is that the disease was never mentioned. Did she catch a cold and ended up in the hospital? Am I supposed to guess the sickness? IDK.

The plot felt a little lost toward the end. I would say it’s a little underdeveloped. The dialouge was a bit lacking and unrealistic. I don’t think that’s how they would talk in reality. Lastly, the ENDING. That felt abrupt. It just happened whatsoever. It would have been better if a few more chapters were added to connect to that ending.

Flaws aside, the love thing was the most unexpected thing for me. I was internally screaming!!! That was so CUTE. I won’t tell you what I mean, you’ll have to read the book! It’s really good, and I enjoyed it! I also recommend this book! Yes it has flaws (every book does) but it’s very enjoyable =) It’s also one of the cutest contemporaries I’ve read!


FQ

  • I decide to give myself the benefit of the doubt and let myself enjoy the dream for what it is; a figment of my imagination. It’s not as if anything will ever come of it.
  • “Oh no, Charl, can’t you see, it’s always been you. Always.”

Katpage divider

4 thoughts on “When Dreams Come True (Non-Spoiler) Review!

Leave a Reply

