Anything Bookish

Top Five Friday: “Books that disappointed me!”

TFF

A lot of things don’t go as we expected it. Most of us tend to have expectations when starting a book. Come on, sometimes you just can’t help it! There are different reasons why, but most of the time it’s because of the hype or if it’s from our favorite author. It also happens with sequels of some series we enjoyed. Another reason,we buy books because we are interested in it right? We read the synopsis and we’re like: “This looks nice!”. But then again, disappointment gets in the way sometimes.

I am going to show you some books that didn’t go as I expected it to be and books that I became disappointed with.

blog-divider-wreath-elements-06-2013-smaller

1. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

I was so excited to read this book! The beginning was very interesting. As the plot went on, I became so thrilled. I read this in one day and I couldn’t stop myself. I really needed to know what’ll happen! I was expecting a different ending, then boom! The plot takes a turn. I didn’t see that coming! My thrill just died down… The reason I probably didn’t like this is because I didn’t like how things went. I can’t really explain.

2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I know a lot of people LOVED and ADORED this book, but I didn’t. I haven’t read Harry Potter and I don’t plan to (sorry not sorry). I couldn’t relate to the main character, nor do I find the characters likeable. I just didn’t feel connected to them or something. I also don’t like the romance. I’m sorry to all Fangirl and Harry Potter fans! We all have different tastes.

3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

A lot of people said this is their favorite classic. I don’t really like classics, but upon hearing that it’s not that hard to understand like most classics, I wanted to read it. Well, I HAD to for school. I found the author’s style very confusing actually. He tells a lot of unnecessary stuff. He sometimes doesn’t get to the point. I also found the characters uninteresting. Daisy is so annoying. I do like the symbolisms though, especially the green light.

4. Insurgent by Veronica Roth

I was super disappointed with this book! Divergent was amazing, but Insurgent was boring. The characters were so different, especially the protagonists! Where’s the badass Tris who keeps making these tough decisions and surviving trials? Where is the ever so charming Tobias/Four who is tall, handsome, and mysterious? They all became different.

Tris became so dramatic and is focusing on her relationship with Tobias! Seriously. This book is filled with so much kisses and drama. Tris became the typical melodramatic teenager in most YA books. On the other hand, Four became so hot-headed and aggressive! He’s always shouting and mad at Tris! WHHHY?

There were so much plans that they made and didn’t actually do. Always making plans. Fighting and fighting. UGH. Summary: MAKE-OUT. FIGHT. GET BACK TOGETHER. MAKE PLANS. REPEAT.

5. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld 

I was so excited to read this book! I had so much high expectations because the synopsis is very cool. The concept of this book was incredible. It was unique. However, it was brought out badly. The characters were again “uninteresting”. The plot wasn’t engaging. I was just dragging myself to finish this book. I liked the cryptic message though:

 Take the coaster straight past the gap,
Until you find one that’s long and flat.
Cold is the sea and watch for breaks,
At the second make the worst mistake.
Four days later take the side you despise,
And look in the flowers for fire-bug eyes.
Once they’re found, enjoy the flight,
Then wait on the bald head until it’s light.

Pretty mysterious, huh? Whatever. I didn’t like the love triangle in this book. Seriously, yuck. The world building wasn’t really good. I just didn’t like this book! I don’t recommend it.

 

That’s it! I pretty much ranted in the whole post. We all had books we were disappointed with! Tell me yours! =)

Kat

page divider

2 thoughts on “Top Five Friday: “Books that disappointed me!”

  1. I’m reading The Great Gasby in class and I made it to page 6 before I realized I couldn’t continue. I’m just not a huge classics fan. And don’t worry, I haven’t read Harry Potter either lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

