Anything Bookish · Book Reviews

Tone Deaf Non-spoiler Book Review

ToneDeaf_newcomp2.jpg
Title: Tone Deaf
Genre: YA Contemporary Romance
Author: Olivia Rivers
Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
Publication Date: May 3, 2016
Description: 
His world is music. Her world is silent.
Ali Collins was a child prodigy destined to become one of the greatest musicians of the twenty-first century—until she was diagnosed with a life-changing brain tumor. Now, at seventeen, Ali lives in a soundless world where she gets by with American Sign Language and lip-reading. She’s a constant disappointment to her father, a retired cop fighting his own demons, and the bruises are getting harder to hide.
When Ali accidentally wins a backstage tour with the chart-topping band Tone Deaf, she’s swept back into the world of music. Jace Beckett, the nineteen-year-old lead singer of the band, has a reputation. He’s a jerk and a player, and Ali wants nothing to do with him. But there’s more to Jace than the tabloids let on. When Jace notices Ali’s bruises and offers to help her escape to New York, Ali can’t turn down the chance at freedom and a fresh start. Soon she’s traveling cross-country, hidden away in Jace’s RV as the band finishes their nationwide tour. With the help of Jace, Ali sets out to reboot her life and rediscover the music she once loved.

My Thoughts:

Tone Deaf.png

*This will be a spoiler-free review*
**I received an electronic copy of the book from the author in exchange for an honest review**
Here are a few initial thoughts: I loved this book! I adored the story and the characters! It’s a very unique story.
It’s a beautiful love story about a deaf girl and a musician. Yes, I know, you must be thinking: “That’s so ironic!” That is what actually makes this YA romance novel unique.
I made an aesthetic for this book. It kind of sucks, I know. It shows what the story is about. The girl is a redhead, she went to a concert, the guy is a musician, and there is song writing in the book. Okay… The quote means: Save me, and I will save you.
Okay. Let’s start with the actual review!
When I read the summary and saw that the protagonist was deaf, I was worried. How will this book be? How can the protagonist communicate with people? Then I read the author’s note and she said that the italic text are ASL. Yes, Ali used ASL throughout the book. She can also read lips, and she can talk. She wasn’t born deaf, she became deaf. What happened to her was actually sad. Ali can speak, but she talks weirdly which makes people think she’s British. Anyways, while the story goes on, my worries were gone! Olivia did an awesome job with the dialogues!
I enjoyed the writing style! It was easy to understand. Everything was clear. What caught my attention the most was the songs in this book! I believed the author wrote them. They were beautiful. They could be turned into an actual song, and the author can definitely be a songwriter =) I love the songs and I tried to sing them with a tune and melody that came into mind. Oh, I just love them.
The characters were adorable! Well, the main ones are. I love how realistic every character is. I love Ali’s personality. I totally understand Jace’s situation. I love Jace’s bandmates! Arrow, Killer, and Jon! Killer was definitely my favorite =) He was very funny and he’s a good friend. I do wish Jon had more pages though.
I liked how Jace cares for Ali. He became interested in her because of the situation she’s in. He knows exactly what she feels and all that. It’s just very heart warming and cute. I couldn’t help but smile. Guys who actually care for you and protect you in any way they can are treasures! I literally would want a Jace in my life caring for me! While reading, the song “Hide Away” came into mind. The song is about how most guys are today. Boys like girls for their appearance and sometimes because of sexual desire and all that. However, Jace liked Ali because of a different reason. He understands her and wants to protect her and her feelings. I don’t know how to explain this but I like Jace because he’s different. Jace and Ali has this deep connection that I just can’t explain.
The plot just went on. I wasn’t bored at any point. I liked how the story was simple but beautiful. It wasn’t a story that is too much to take in, nor a bland one. It’s about “learning to love again”. It’s actually about a lot of things. Hope, Love, Friendship, Trust, and so much more.
I love how there wasn’t instant love. I mean it sort of was but it was in a lesser way. It’s not the book where the couples suddenly go “I love you and I think we should be together now”. It’s different. I love the “I’m trying to learn to love again” “I know you will soon” kind of thing. Jace had a terrible past which caused him to avoid love. He thinks that he can’t love anymore after everything that’s happened.
I love how this book tugged at my heartstrings! A few tears fell during the last chapters of this book! It was 12am and I was so so sleepy but when I got to a certain part, I got up and finished the book. That scene was so heartbreaking and unexpected! But those words! Ugh! If you’ve read the book you’ll understand. Those words just made me so full of emotions! I can’t even. *has a hard time breathing*
The ending was perfect! Olivia, you did such a great job! The ending made the whole book perfect. I couldn’t think of another ending to make the book as it is! The book was actually close to perfect! Kudos to you!
I recommend this to people who love romance and contemporary! It’s a perfect summer read as well. Please try out this book. It’s amazing.
2 thoughts on “Tone Deaf Non-spoiler Book Review

Leave a Reply

