Anything Bookish · Monthly TBR

April Wrap-up + May TBR!

Hello May! April is finally over, I can’t believe it!

I broke a record this April and I’m so happy! I read 7 books! The record was 6 and that was last year. The books on my April TBR were only three because I thought that I wouldn’t have any time to read during my trip, but hey! I realized I had so much time! It’s a good thing I have eBooks on my phone.

All the books I read were actually pretty good. I didn’t really get disappointed with any of them. =) Let’s get started now, shall we?

blog-divider-wreath-elements-06-2013-smaller

April WU.png

1. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen.jpg

I loved it the second time around! It felt like reading it for the first time! I definitely understood the plot and characters more this time. I love Maven 😉

2. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Me Before You-2.jpg

This made me cry! I loved the story. The characters were adorable. I love how Louisa Clark was bubbly and full of energy. I love how Will Traynor is so sarcastic and cold. The character development was what I loved the most. The book was realistic! Especially, the relationship of Lou and her sister. I experienced that with my younger sister! I mean something like that, all the freaking time! Oh and yes, the ending is heartbreaking. That broke my heart so much. I can’t wait for the movie!

3. Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Glass Sword.jpg

Victoria Aveyard definitely up-ed her game this time! Awesome sequel! I think this is actually one of my favorites this year! All those abilities! It was a kickass book. The ending though! I neeeeed the next book!

4. Tone Deaf by Olivia Rivers

Tone Deaf.jpg

The author gave me an eArc and I’m so so so so glad she did! This book was beautiful! It was unique. It’s a love story between a deaf girl and a musician. The characters were amazing. Killer is my favorite. You can’t help but like all the main characters! There is ASL too! I recommend this to anyone who loves romance and contemporaries. The ending was perfect! (Omg, while writing this, I am listening to Perfect by Simple Plan xD)ALSO,  I SHED TEARS AT THE END. That’s very rare so it’s a big thing!

5. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

MLND.jpg

This was a really cute and hilarious book! It’s also a perfect book for summer! The characters are definitely “loveable”. It has romance, drama, politics, and more. The love story was cute and heartwarming. I was occasionally going “aw! that’s cute”. The ending was realistic and good. I have so many favorite characters! I like Tim and George! =)

6. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Ugly Love.jpg

This was a very interesting book! I don’t read adult or new adult books, and this book is an example of why. Goodness gracious. First things first, i was different from what I read in the past. What interests me is that the male character kind of lost the capability to love. (which is rare, I guess?) He’s heartbroken like crazy. It’s usually the girls who are like this in YA! Miles, the male protagonist, has a very interesting background story. It’s sad and tragic. Now, why don’t I read these kind of books? Okay. It has sex. Like really graphic sex (maybe at least for me). I cringed at the scenes! Because of that, I only actually read about 60-70% of the book. I scanned the rest. I didn’t want to come across another scene. It makes me sick omg. I was going to give this 2 or 3 stars; however, the ending made up for everything! Perfect ending. I almost cried! That was so amazing! I ended up giving this 4 stars =) I still want to try more CoHo books! So if you know any good ones without much sexy scenes, please tell me in the comments section! ❤

7. Pax by Sara Pennypacker

Pax.jpg

This is a story about a boy who keeps a fox as a pet. War is coming to their place and they need to leave. His father volunteered for the war and he needs to leave Peter at his grandfather’s place. Peter’s grandpa hates pets (from what I understood). Peter has to leave Pax behind, and he does. He throws Pax’s (the fox) favorite toy into the woods, and leaves with his dad. It wasn’t a very easy thing to do ofc. That night, Peter realized he made the wrong decision. He ran away to find Pax once again. The book talks about war, the effects of war, and the things we do for the people we love. This book wrecked me. I got teary-eyed at the last sentence. Which is a big thing. However, that’s not the biggest part. I told my mom the entire plot. I was telling the story causually, then I got to the last part. My voice broke and I started crying. She did too. This book had a great impact on me. I love animals! The ending was just so heartbreaking. I couldn’t bear anything like that. So I recommend this book to people who loves animals, which is pretty much everyone right? This is definitely one of my favorites this year. YOU HAVE TO READ IT.

That’s where my Wrap-up ends! Let’s proceed to my May TBR! =)

Post-Divider

May TBR.png1. Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell

unhooked-final

This is one of my most anticipated reads of 2016! I’m so freaking excited! It’s a retelling of Peter Pan. I love Peter Pan! Childhood Memories. Ah. I also love Hook in OUAT ❤

2. The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

18392495.jpg

I don’t know much about this book actually. All I know is that there is a girl named Alice and an alcoholic named Tim. THOSE ARE THE CHARACTERS FROM MY LIFE NEXT DOOR! I’m pretty sure! I ship them 😉 I wanted to read this because of what I just said and because I need to read more of this author.

3. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

9464733.jpg

This looks like a very hilarious book! I just want to read something happy and funny this summer!

 

That’s all I’m going to include! I don’t know if I can read more than 3 books because we going on another trip this month! We’re going to Hong Kong, and you know… It’s going to be family time! If I finish these all, I might read maybe 1 or 2 more. Let’s just see on my May Wrap-up!

How many books this you read last month? Tell me below! =)

Ciao~

page divider

Leave a Reply

