Book Reviews

The 5th Wave Book Review!

The Fifth Wave.jpg

Synopsis:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother–or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Genre: Sci-Fi, Young Adult

My Thoughts:

“To hold on, you have to find something you’re willing to die for.”

~No spoilers section~

(Forgive me if I’m bad at reviews) I gave this book 5 stars! It’s really good! Honestly, if I would summarize this review it would purely be this: *screams loudly*

Im-So-Happy-Screaming-GIF.gif

This book makes me want to scream. SERIOUSLY.

Well, if you didn’t know, this book is about aliens. Yep. Not green aliens okay? xD

I read this book because I found out that it will be made into a movie. Also, Chloë Grace Moretz is casted as the main character! I was suddenly interested upon hearing the news.

The book is brilliantly written and plotted. Rick Yancey is a good writer. His writing style is easy to understand and entertaining. Also, I love how the story goes. It may be confusing at some point but you’ll eventually get it. I was actually shocked and confused. I thought my copy is missing a chapter or something! Lol xD

The thrilling parts happened around 300 pages. It had me on the edge of my seat. The book also had many twists! I was surprised by one of them! The others are predictable but still it was kind of surprising…

The characters are amazing! I love the main character Cassie! She’s a badass and she’s very sarcastic. Her sarcasm makes her an amazing narrator. She makes me laugh out loud!(which normally does not happen…) I love how she cares so much for her brother. She would literally do anything for her brother. Even if it means that her safety is at risk. It’s just so sweet =)

Zombie(I won’t be mentioning the real name) is my most favorite character! I love him so so so so much! He’s bae 😉 I also love that he keeps his promises! Finally someone who doesn’t think that promises are meant to be broken!

The ending makes me sort of emotional just thinking about it.. I love how things ended and I need the next book ASAP! I’ve heard mixed reviews about the sequel but I would love to read it to find out!

I guess this is where the non-spoilers section ends because I really have nothing else to say that’s not a spoiler! =) Read the book! I recommend it! so goooood!!!

 

 

~Spoilers Section!!~

Okay… I can’t really express my thoughts well but here goes…

I have to admit, I’m team Ben! I didn’t really like Evan =( I think that his character isn’t so strong. He just suddenly comes out of nowhere saying that Cassie saved him… I’ve read books that are similar to the situation. Stranger meets Girl/Boy and quickly they fall in love. That’s how I saw Cassie and Evan’s situation. I know that Cassie didn’t fall immediately for Evan, but she did. I just guess the romance of this novel was weak.

I was surprised with the twist about Camp Haven! I didn’t really see that coming! I thought they were humans who were training children to be soldiers to fight the aliens. I didn’t think they were aliens though it was obvious now that I think of it.

The plot twist with Vosch at Camp Ashpit didn’t surprise me at all! I saw it coming! I was like: I knew it! I freaking knew it! Another twist that surprised me is when Ben was alive! I was confused when his part came. Suddenly, there’s a guy talking about a Sissy. Then Vosch says his name and I literally gasped!

I ship Cassie and Ben so much! I hope they end up together though I think Cassie will eventually be with Evan in the end. I don’t know if my prediction is true but I hope not!

The end is crazy! It’s thrilling and action-packed! I was internally screaming at the part where Nugget is walking with Cassie out in the hallway. Cassie is wearing the soldier uniform and her cap hid her face. Ben, on the other hand, is wearing the doctor attire and a face mask. I was scared that they might shoot each other or something but good thing they didn’t! phew! I was waiting if they recognized each other! I was also waiting if Cassie would bring up that she still has feelings for him because TEAM BEN ❤

At the very end this happened:

“My face is covered in bandages, my hair looks like a bird nested in it, I’m dressed up like one of Sammy’s toy soldiers, and Ben Parish leans over and kisses me anyway. A light little peck, half cheek, half mouth.”

OKAAAY.. WHAT?! DID HE ACTUALLY KISS CASSIE? OMG HE DID! *FANGIRLS* And because I can’t explain what I was feeling when I was reading this, here are pictures which pretty much explain it accurately:

original.gif

tumblr_nrhiymfp0f1tkx26qo1_500tumblr_n6m77yA5vY1qj4315o1_500

I am still hoping that Ben and Cassie will be together! PLEASE OH PLEASE! I ship them so much!

 

 

That’s pretty much it! Thank you so much for reading my unorganized review! I am clearly and obviously not good at this! I want to get better though! If you have any tips on how to improve, please them me… It will help a lot! Hope to see you soon! Bye~

6 thoughts on “The 5th Wave Book Review!

Leave a Reply

